Barcelona

Then we went to Barcelona

13047964_10154165119839443_1314719662159713078_o

I am dismayed by the many adverse changes that occur as we age, and also aware that virtually all of them were predicted (accurately) by people we knew who reached seniority before us. Nothing unusual, to be expected, and not worth writing about, since we all know, or should know, what to expect.

But what has surprised me lately is my distinct lack of interest in fiction — both writing and reading it. I used to read a couple of novels a month, or more; now maybe one a year, or less. I start novels that look like something I should want to read, but simply cannot generate enough interest to keep going very far.

I continue the life-long habit of reading books (I am unable to read electronic books), but fiction rarely appears. Instead, I read biographies, memoirs, history, and essays. Lately I’ve been reading the history of Rome, for obvious reasons.

I also used to enjoy writing for this blog, and in the early years wrote something in it regularly. Now I see that the last entry was some eight months ago. I have also noticed that more often than not, rather than “literary,” it contains mostly travel writing.

So here’s another of those … I should add that almost all these photos were taken by my wife, who by far has the more superior photographic eye.

We love European markets, and Barcelona has some of Europe’s finest examples. The following photos are from the Santa Catarina Market.

IMG_1907IMG_1909IMG_1912

Girls in a window.

IMG_1916

La Rambla on a Friday afternoon.

IMG_1919

Barcelona windows.

IMG_1932

Barcelona windows and balconies.

IMG_1934

These photos (above) are not rare examples, they are common architectural elements seen all over the city. Also, Barcelona is exceptionally clean. After living in Rome, which is exceptionally dirty and inundated with some of the world’s ugliest examples of graffiti, Barcelona looks like a crew of menehunes (Hawaiian leprechauns) washed and shined the city in the dark of night. It is strikingly obvious that the Catalans are proud of their city.

Naturally we ate. Catalunya is world-famous for its cuisine, which includes a wide variety of fresh goodies from the sea. Like Spaniards in general, they eat dinner at an obscenely late hour, but for those of us who are usually asleep at their dinner hour, god invented tapas. Except for breakfast, we ate nothing but tapas during our five day visit. The best were here — Lolita Taperia, originally called Inopia.

IMG_2012

A note about this tapas bar. It is owned by the brother of the chef who owned El Buli, north of Barcelona, which was for many years rated as the best restaurant in the world. A few years ago, Mario Batali had a series on PBS called, On The Road In Spain. During the Barcelona episode, Batali and his group (including Gwyneth Paltrow and Michael Stipe from REM) spent an evening eating tapas here, sitting around the table under the Moritz sign. Paltrow seemed to have an orgasm every time she put something in her mouth. On their way out, Batali turned to the others and said, “The best tapas I’ve had in Spain.” He should know, and Holly and I do not disagree.

IMG_2013

The drinks bar. Notice the cartoons on the TV.

IMG_2017

We arrived about a quarter after one, for lunch, and there was only one other couple there. It is not large, the table beneath the Moritz sign in the only one. There are two barrels for tables (the couple in the middle with the waiter are at one), the rest are stools at the curving bar. By two pm, it was mostly full, and by the time we left, there was a line of people outside waiting to get in.

IMG_2019

The curving bar looks into the kitchen. Our grilled lamb skewer is on the grill.

IMG_2020

Outside.

IMG_2035

Barcelona’s arch d’triomphe.

A few photos from Barcelona’s Palace of Music, where we attended a concert featuring a quartet of, as advertised, Europe’s best classical guitarists.

IMG_1970IMG_2037IMG_2047IMG_2062IMG_2063IMG_2070

We also had paella on the beach. Not as good as the tapas, but fine enough. This was a Sunday, the sun was bright, no clouds, warming up, and the beach was rocking.

IMG_2192IMG_2194IMG_2197IMG_2203IMG_2205IMG_2209IMG_2218

I bought a hat.

IMG_1995

Holly toured this Gaudi house.

IMG_1943

The roses are not usually there. This was a major holiday in Barcelona — St. Jordi Day (St. George), and traditionally everyone carries a rose. I forgot the reason. These roses were gone a couple of days later.

On a closing note, due to bad weather, our approach into Fiumicino airport was from a direction we had never used before, and we flew directly over Ostia Antica, a rare view of it from the air.

IMG_2349

Hope you enjoyed another tidbit from the Don and Holly Vagabond Show.

6 replies »

  1. Thank you very much for sending me this email. I loved the pictures and I completely understand how you feel about the reading and writing right now. It really must be our age. I have not been reading near as much as I used to. The pictures are wonderful, especially the building with roses all over it. Tommy and I just today went to get our passports started. His company is sending him on some out of country trips soon and I will get to go with on some of them. I’m excited. We plan to travel more in a couple years when he retires or semi-retires. Our son and his girl friend got married April 12. They had 2 extended honeymoons before they got married. Last year they pulled a camper behind the Escalade and went all up the west coast and into Canada the across the states and back down the east. Then December 24th they flew to England and stayed there and Budapest and Rotterdam and a couple other places I can’t think of for 2 months. So he highly advises his Dad and I to travel. I want to go warm climate places. Thanks again. Brenda

    Date: Thu, 28 Apr 2016 07:06:57 +0000 To: bmcfox@hotmail.com